Living Abroad · Music · Musings

Site updates, and a summer playlist

Hey party people! I wrote a piece about moving abroad for Women Who Wander, and it is now live on Young and Undecided! It’s my first time writing a piece for another site, so please let me know what you think of it. And if you’ve found my site from that piece, please check out my archives and don’t take this post as an indication of my usual writing!

I’m sorry I have not been busy on the blogging front. True, I have been occupied with other things: first dancing in Sweden, now visa requirements in Los Angeles. But the the truth is that writing, especially about my travels, does not really appeal to me right now. Maybe it’s because I am worried about not getting my visa to move to Spain (eeek), or maybe it’s because I’ve been thinking too much about the neo-colonialist aspect of travel and gentrification (ughhh, don’t ask). Whatever it is, I’m not feeling writing short, fun pieces about various places I’ve been, and all the longer, deeper pieces I want to express are just stalling when I try to write them, so I’m on a bit of a hiatus for the moment.

So without further ado, here are some summer jams to keep you occupied from my lack of writing.

10 thoughts on “Site updates, and a summer playlist

  1. oh no, I hope you’ll get the visa – they’d be foolish not to let you stay in their country!
    thanks for sharing the songs, I can’t believe Despacito made it into your list haha I’ve listened to it a couple of minutes ago 😀
    hugs from Uruguay!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great guest post! 🙂
    ”I worry that I’m being reckless and selfish. That when or if I do come back, there won’t be a place for me anymore.” I understand these lines oh so well, it was something I constantly thought about during my last vacation back home. I would love to grow my roots abroad, but out of guilt I still think about going back home once in a while…
    And Lee Moses! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

