Travel

Warsaw, pt. 2

In a move that won’t help my bank account, I recently discovered a website that complies a list of different swing workshops and events all over the world. And so only a week back from Los Angeles (I was in Los Angeles for the last 2 weeks of February for winter break btw), suffering from a week-long jet lag (this has never happened before so I must be getting old), I boarded a train to Warsaw for Retro Weekend 2017.

wp-image-571444047jpg.jpg
Palace of Culture and Science

Learning from my past weekend retreats in Prague and Bergen, I knew that a two full days of dance classes and parties would not mesh well with going back to work on Monday. So I did what any sane person would do: got a party pass, and danced until 4:30 a.m.

I thought not taking classes would give me ample time to be a tourist (without the company of children) but it turns out that the combination of late night dancing, bed bugs, and loud hostel hallways will really zap your touristic energy.

I managed to make it for brunch at Aïoli (what a great restaurant, named after mayonnaise), a 2-hour dive into the Fryderyck Chopin Museum, and a short walk through the very small Museum of Contemporary Art before collapsing back on my (bug-free) bed at my hostel for a mid-afternoon nap, until it was time to do my hair again for a second night of dancing until 4 a.m.

wp-image-943208225jpg.jpg

The Chopin Museum is well worth a visit if you like his music. The first room does a good job of integrating history and its influence on his music, but the upper exhibit halls can veer towards mundane and (dare I say it) boring. However, the whole basement is devoted to a listening center where you can hear practically every piece Chopin ever wrote. Also, while I was there I met one of the bands playing at Retro Weekend, the Shirt Tail Stompers, and now we’re friends so that’s pretty cool.

wp-image-2107780189jpg.jpg
Chopin mural

wp-image-1856839183jpg.jpg

The Contemporary Art Museum, across the street from the Palace of Culture and Science, is so inconspicuous and obscured by construction that if it weren’t for this neon sign I never would’ve found it. I saved it on Google Maps because I mixed it up with the National Museum, which is much bigger, although it’s probably for the best, as I had barely enough energy as it was. So as it stands, something to leave on my list for my next visit.

Until next time, Warsaw!

wp-image-1051816498jpg.jpg
My exact thoughts as I tried to sleep on the train back to Wrocław
2 thoughts on “Warsaw, pt. 2

Leave a Reply

