Travel

Third time’s a charm

20170121_134809_hdr
At the Musee d’Orsay

The more I go to Paris, the more I think of it. This is unusual for me; not that I am as confident as Elizabeth Bennett that my first impression is always right, but I know my own tastes. I am open to the idea that I might misjudge someone or something, and to giving things another go, but in general I know what I want.

This confidence of character is important, I believe. If you don’t know your own heart, you are easily swept up in whatever comes along, without considering what will be the best for you. When I was 18, I thought I had everything I wanted figured out, but at 26 I know a lot more about myself and the things I value. I value the ability to change and be changed, while at the same time remaining true to my principles.

20170122_131641
Just a shopping mall, nbd

One of my principles is that just because something is popular doesn’t mean you have to like it. Another is that the museum-ification of cities is kind of gross. And so upon my first visit to Paris, I saw a beautiful city, but one I had already seen a million times, over-filtered and overpriced. It was undeniably beautiful, but it also seemed unreal and artificial.

But perhaps that what Paris has to offer: the romance of a dream, the impossible made possible, the real and unreal on every corner.

20170121_185323
I mean, I guess, if you’re into that sort of thing

Perhaps my story of Paris is in opposition to the normal narrative; instead of love at first sight it was like that quote from a John Green novel: I fell in love slowly, then all at once. (Ugh, sorry.)

Oh, and I finally saw the Eiffel Tower. Only took me three visits!

8 thoughts on “Third time’s a charm

  1. Great post! I’ve been to Paris just once and just like you, I didn’t think it was that great. But if I were to visit again, maybe I’d like it a bit more, could be like sushi which I didn’t like at the first try but have gradually started to like eating! 😀

    Like

  2. I didn’t like the city the first and only time I visited either but there is a word for it and it’s the Paris Syndrome. And I seriously can’t believe it took you three trips to go see the Eiffel Tower. It’s THE Eiffel Tower!

    Like

  3. When I went to Paris, I thought I wouldn’t like it, but on the contrary, I really enjoyed it! I fell in love with the cafes, the fresh croissants and the gardens! I can understand why it took you so long to go to the Eiffel Tower but if you had to see it, I’m glad you saw it at night because I think that is when its the prettiest!

    Like

Leave a Reply

