Travel

Sunshine Blogger Award

So last week, I got nominated for another award! Instead of letting this one fester for 2 months, I decided to actually get shit done in a timely manner! (Also, I will actually nominate people this time.) It also helps that I am not going to Krakow this weekend as planned, which is disappointing because I was going to go swing dancing in the salt mine which would have been DOPE, but instead I get to see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them with my friends and make an early Thanksgiving dinner and start giving some private English lessons and plan my summer because, oh, have I mentioned? I’m moving to southern Spain next year to get my Masters in bilingual education!

And of course instead of running errands, I’m here writing a blog entry. Anyway.

I was nominated by Len at Journeys of Len, so thank you very much! Len is from Vietnam and currently living in Hamburg, Germany. His blog and photography are amazing and beautiful, so you should definitely check him out!

What is the Sunshine Blogger Award?

Sunshine blogger award is given out by bloggers to fellow bloggers who blog about positive, happy and inspiring content. I like this award, it’s less vague than some of the other ones.

Here are the rules, should you choose to accept this challenge:

  • Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blogs.
  • Answer the eleven questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate eleven blogs to receive the award and write them eleven new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or your blog.

Without further ado, here are his questions:

1. When did you start blogging and why?

Oh, some of you might be familiar with this story… it was 2002 or thereabouts and I had just discovered this nifty thing called HTML… yes, I coded my entire website by hand, and first badly then less badly but still not well. No, I don’t remember the URL. No, I would not give it to you even if I did.

I did it because… I was bored, I think? I had nothing better to do with my 12 year old self.

2. What is your favorite destination and why?

This is so hard to pick! I think the prettiest place I’ve ever been was Ljubljana, but I also loved Barcelona and Dublin because they’re so much damn fun and lively. (They’re also pretty too) Oh, and Oaxaca, Mexico will always have a special place in my heart. (It’s also beautiful, lively, and the food is amazing.)

3. Name five destinations on your bucket list.

Istanbul, Yellowstone National Park, Scotland, Machu Picchu, Buenos Aires

4. Do you prefer to travel alone or with others?

I do both! I was scared of traveling by myself and being lonely, but it turns out I’m pretty good at meeting new people.

5. Name three Must-have items for you while traveling (mobile phones and camera do not count, as we always bring them with us)?

Something to read/podcasts to listen to, a comfy scarf that can double as a blanket, and a snack (see next question)

6. Which meal do you think you cannot skip while traveling?

I do not skip meals; I am always hungry!

7. Do you prefer local specialties or something you are familiar with like burger, pasta, etc.?

I like to try new food and cuisines, and I will try anything! Unless maybe it’s still moving.

8. If you have tried some specialties, which dish left a strong impression on you?

Gyros in Greece (especially one where they had hamburger meat with feta cheese in the middle so it was all melted when you bit into it), truffle pasta in Italy and Slovenia, chapulines (fried crickets) in Oaxaca (they’re freaky but delicious), mole in Oaxaca, squash flower blossoms in Oaxaca, actually probably everything in Oaxaca, roast goose in Budapest, pain au chocolat in Paris, po’ boys in New Orleans.

9. Who is the most interesting person you have ever met on your journey?

Last week I met an older Polish lady on the bus, turns out she’s lived in the States for almost 40 years! She lived in Arkansas and DC, and she’s from Wrocław. We spent the 4 hour bus ride talking about politics, both in the US and Poland. I also met some great people by eavesdropping on them in a bar in Dublin, although they were interesting for different reasons (alcohol). Plus, all the people I met at Herräng were amazing, and we’re still friends to date.

10. Assumed that you are a solo traveler, are you afraid to ask strangers for help, or maybe just take a picture for you?

I’m not fond of it, but I will if I have to. I like to be independent and I hate admitting that I need help! Plus, I’m usually not fond of talking to men I don’t know, because men can get real creepy, real fast.

11. Have you ever getting into trouble (e.g. scams, thefts, lost luggage, etc.) or any dangerous situation while traveling? How did you handle the situation?

I was in a car accident in Mexico. I was in the hospital for two weeks. I don’t recommend getting into accidents and needing surgeries in any country, native or foreign, but I can shout out Hospital Real San Jose, it was a very nice place if you’re gonna have to be in a hospital!

Here are my 11 questions:

  1. What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done while traveling?
  2. What was the first time you left your home country?
  3. What is your earliest childhood memory?
  4. How do you reduce your carry-on liquid load when traveling via air? (Seriously guys, I’m always looking for tips.)
  5. What’s the weirdest food you’ve ever tried?
  6. What is your favorite dish that your mom or dad (or grandparents) make?
  7. What is your favorite food from your home country?
  8. What is your favorite movie and why?
  9. What is the best advice you’ve ever received?
  10. Describe your perfect date. (April 25th?)
  11. Where are you going next? (literally, metaphorically, etc)

And my 11 nominees!

  1. Raïsa Mirza
  2. On Another Coast
  3. ElizaBelle
  4. Late Nights Missed Flights
  5. ten cent paradigm
  6. Samantha in Transit
  7. The 20 Something Detour
  8. musebyplume
  9. Lose the Map
  10. The Snow Melts Somewhere
  11. Young and Undecided

Go forth and read their blogs!

6 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Really interesting and I must say you are quite brave to try all those local dishes *thumb up*. I saw fried crickets, and fried spiders in Cambodia but did not have enough of courage to try them, although they smell great 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

