Uncategorized

Liebster Award

I’ve had a blog, off and on, for many, many years, yet in all that time, this is my first being nominated for an award! Thanks so much to Annie at Small World, Smaller Girl for giving me a Liebster Award. I’m not quite sure who/what Liebster is, but I appreciate the love nonetheless!

The Rules

1. Write a post to show your award
2. Acknowledge the blogger that nominated you
3. Give a brief story of why you started blogging
4. Give advice to your fellow bloggers
5. Nominate a few bloggers for the award
6. Leave a comment to let the nominated bloggers know about the award

Why I Started Blogging

Oh boy, this is gonna be interesting. I first started blogging when I was… 11? 12? I don’t remember exactly, but in the early part of the millennium I bought a book on how to code HTML for kids, and it all spiraled out of control from there (kidding). I got pretty into learning how to build my own website, although I was never good at keeping abreast of the newest programming languages and my eye for design was terrible.

Nonetheless, I loved having a place to share my writing. I had many sites over the years, most of which were hosted on platforms like WordPress and Blogger after 2006. No, I won’t share them with you. (Mostly because I don’t even remember the URLs, which are probably gone anyway.)

My last blog fizzled out in mid-2014, when I was in a car accident, and after half a year in Poland, I decided to make a new blog to document my travels, and also maybe cash in on this travel blogger business (hahahahha jk).

Advice for Fellow Bloggers

I hardly think of myself as a “successful” blogger because I’ve never made any money or amassed anything resembling a sizeable following. If you want advice on how to become that person, then I can’t help you. But if you just want a place to write, the best advice I can give is to work on finding your own voice. Anyone can write bland recommendations for cafes every tourist in Paris has visited. But only one person can write about the crazy adventures you got up to on your vacation (or just in your day-to-day). I’d rather read something with personality about the most mundane shit than trite ramblings about the coolest holiday money can buy.

Nominations

Madeline Faye

Travel By Any Other Name

Cozy Caravan

Destination Humanity

The Bouquet

Lindsey Livings

Go forth and read/peruse those blogs! They are hella entertaining and/or have really pretty pictures. Show them some love! ❤

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. I love your view on blog content. I love people who can make anything interesting (like you). But also I do go around reading those fancy/also boring blogs about things literally nobody has or does haha. A woman can dream right. Also thanks for nominating me 😉

    Like

    1. Oh i read them, especially if they have good pictures, but they’re not among my favorites. They’re good for general advice! And also if you do it professionally it’s sort of what you have to do.
      You’re welcome! I love your blog, you also make everything interesting!

      Like

  2. “I’d rather read something with personality about the most mundane shit than trite ramblings about the coolest holiday money can buy.” This reminds me of a quote from Mr Rogers, “Simple and deep is better than complex and shallow.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

