Living Abroad

The past lives of my SIM card, coming back to haunt me

Strangers call my Polish number all the time. Sometimes I answer and tell them I don’t speak Polish, but they keep talking in Polish, so I hang up. Once, I had my Polish teacher talk to one of these mystery callers, and she said they wanted to know how much I charged for English lessons. She said he claimed he got my number from a flyer.

That’s weird, but I guess that’s what happens when  you get a cheap SIM card on a cheap, drug dealer cell phone. Although why you would change numbers when you’ve printed up so many flyers is beyond me.

Today someone called, and he finally spoke English. He asked me, “So how much?”

“How much for what?”

“…for sex.”

That’s right, the continuing saga  of me being mistaken for a prostitute.

I feel quite bad for this girl. She’s missing out on a lot of business.

2 thoughts on “The past lives of my SIM card, coming back to haunt me

Leave a Reply

