Music

Music Monday: Love Me Like That – The Knocks ft. Carly Rae Jepsen

Have I ever told you guys that I love Carly Rae Jepsen? (I know for a fact that I have not.)

Now, I know that after the mega-hit that was “Call Me Maybe”, a lot of people are over her. Because, let’s be honest, that song got very annoying, very quickly. I remember the summer of 2012, fresh out of college, doing teacher training for Teach for America, and they would blast it every morning as we were getting ready to go for a long day of teaching and seminars. They thought it would get us pumped up, but it’s actually the last think you ever want to hear at 5:30 in the morning. (Yes, 5:30 a.m. Every morning. I still have nightmares.)

But she’s actually amazing. Specifically, her last album, E•MO•TION, is probably one of my favorite albums ever. It’s really good. Like, so good. Like, oh my god. Please go and listen to it, I promise you’ll be pleasantly surprised. That is, if you like pop music. If you’re one of those people who thinks pop music is the worst thing to happen to your ears and harbinger of end times, you probably won’t like it. Or maybe you will. It is, after all, really fucking good.

Anyway. Back to this jam I have for you this week. I love Carly Rae Jepsen, so when I saw she had done a song with the Knocks, I was down. It’s a great jam, hopeful and romantic yet full of heartache but also a great beat. Jepsen sings I hear thunder in the distance/ and it hits me in an instant and, well, you can feel it. It’s like a cool rain on a hot, sticky summer day. So in honor of spring finally arriving here in Poland, enjoy this song and enjoy this weather. Hopefully it’s as nice where you are as it is where I am.

Featured Image: screen grab from the music video for “Run Away With Me”, courtesy of Google, in fitting with the travel theme of course

 

Leave a Reply

